Finger Tendon Health Ritual

I’ve been doing a super simple protocol since about 2019. Figured I’d share . I do 30s foot-on hangs rest 30s.

Set 1) 30m half crimp
Set 2) 15-20mm half crimp
Set 3) 3 finger drag on 15mm
Set 4) pinch the power strips 10m on top

That’s it, also I have been pairing this with collagen about 40mins before. Full disclosure I’m an ambassador for Physivantage.

I do this everyday unless I’m climbing or training than I do a more specific warm up instead based on the session goals.

Been climbing over 20 years and over the past 2 years my fingers have felt amazing and stronger than ever.

2 Likes

Interesting. I had a similar experience after having some tweaky fingers a few years ago - I did pretty high intensity, low volume, high frequency pinch block and hangboard sessions about 2x a day and came out of it feeling pretty damn good.

What’s your RPE when doing the hangs? How pumpy/hard do you make it?

1 Like

Roughly an RPE of 6- 7, I get close to being pumped, but never actually pumped, just warm.

1 Like

There’s good literature supporting this theory from Keith Barr et al (not for fingers, so we’re making a leap) that Paul and I will be discussing in a few weeks on Breaking Beta.

4 Likes

I googled Keith Baar and found this: #156 Dr. Keith Baar | Tendon Health and Elastic Power Performance
Super interesting! Nice to read how tendons work and adapt!

Joel has a bunch of great stuff on that podcast!

I think this is very interesting.

When you program these hangs, do you consider them to be an extra stressor on your tendons (meaning that you would reduce something else in your program)? Or do you consider them 100% recovery?

I’m curious about trying them out but I don’t want to add something to my training program that suddenly ends up over stressing my tendons and causing injury :blush:

1 Like