Helmets while Bouldering

I’ve been climbing for 5 years but outdoor bouldering for only about 1.5 years now. I’ve realized that no one ever wears a helmet while bouldering outdoors. Is there a reason for this? If the likelihood of a head injury while bouldering is low then that makes total sense, but I’m just a bit ignorant regarding this. I’m a physical therapist and I have a wife, so I’m familiar with injuries and I’m not trying to get a concussion or TBI anytime soon. If it’s just an ego thing then I’m gonna wear a helmet because I don’t care what people think about me, but I really don’t like wearing one as I just feel more constricted. Just wondering about people’s thoughts. Thanks for any input.

For many years, climbing helmets were only rated for impact from above- side and back impact weren’t introduced to most helmets until sometime after 2014- and maybe even later than that. There were a few exceptions to this (Metolius being a notable one), but before then, a helmet really wouldn’t do much for you bouldering.

I imagine these days it’s both a lack of culture around it (even sport climbing is still mostly a no helmet culture, although I see alot more these days than I used to), and demographics- the younger you are, the more invincible you feel- and bouldering definitely skews young (with some exceptions, myself included).

At any rate- with a back and side rated helmet, there’s probably some benefit on some problems to wearing one- especially if you have no spotters or questionable spotters/landings.

I’ve seen a handful of folks wearing helmets bouldering. Not many, but a few. More when it’s really tall.
I’d assume it’s part that it’s far less likely you’ll get hit by falling rock, and part just personal choice.

I’ve worn a helmet when I was alone on a high ball with too few crashpads. 5/5, would do again.