What is my weakness? What should I work on? I need direction, do I need a coach?

I have some climbing goals, they aren’t that lofty compared to some folks here. I’d like to be a solid 5.8 or maybe 5.9 trad leader in the Gunks (where I live) and areas like Red Rock. I’ve been climbing for about 7 years, I am 46 years old. I have a small home wall and a reasonable home gym. I am married with kids. I typically have 1hr per day to train. I can climb outside one day per week. I’d venture to say I am a little overweight but for the sake of context I can do 50 pushups and 20 pullups. I like to think I am reasonably fit.

To date my best gunks lead has been CCK (5.7+), not onsight. I don’t lead at that level consistently, this past season I stayed more in the 5.6 range. I have followed Gunks 5.9, albeit not clean. My goal for the upcoming season is to lead 8’s. Since time is limited I am a bit overwhelmed as to what to focus on and how to best use what I have. My sense is, my limiting factors are head game (dealing with fear of falling/getting hurt) and movement skills. But being stronger and having more endurance certainly would not hurt. Losing a few pounds (difficult) wouldn’t hurt either.

Would someone like me climbing at the meager grades I am talking about benefit from a coach? What would be the best way to sort out how to make the most of the time I have to reach the level I want? I can’t fix everything at once so I’d like to fix the right things.

2 Likes

Sounds like you’ve got a good base of experience and physical ability to achieve your goals.

From my experience (a fellow late starter to climbing), the two biggest contributors to my leveling-up were:

1. having a coach. The first time I had a coach, my outdoor sport grade jumped 4 grades in one trip. Having someone to help give you focused training will reap rewards.