What makes a solid pyramid?

We’ve all heard about building a base, but what does that mean?

My name is Jess, I’m a coach with Power Company and I also work for KAYA, the climber’s app. Between the two, I’ve learned that a good pyramid follows powers of 3. Beginner to elite climbers display this pretty persistently in their pyramids.

Example:
A climber that has sent 3 v7s has also sent 9 v6s and 27 v5s. So, on their quest to v8, they can expect to send at least 6 more v7s. This pattern can be a nice reminder of the work that goes into unlocking top grades but doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be pushing that limit now and then! It can also indicate, like in my case, that I should be projecting more, as this year I’ve sent 17 v6s, 4 v7s and haven’t even attempted a v8 yet.

Does your pyramid follow this “rule”? What have you discovered by tracking your ascents?

image|431x500

Are we talking performance or training? I think that gets lost in the new conversations around pyramids, and it’s an important distinction.
For instance, I’ve never logged indoor climbs as anything more than training (and now I have no idea what the grades of my indoor projects might be), and outdoor repeats also don’t make my performance pyramid.
I suspect the available time outdoors and availability of a variety of grades would cause the pyramid to change a fair amount per person. For instance, we don’t have many V8s here. For whatever reason, it’s just an underrepresented grade and I’ve done most of them, so they won’t appear again for me. Unless I travel or do FAs, I might go all year with no V8s.

— I log one pyramid - for “performance” that I’ve kept since 2007. This is the only one I actually ever look at a physical representation of, and is only outdoors.
— I have another that is kept in my head or training logs that is on a 12 month (or so) cycle for “currency”. That one contains repeats as well, and is only outdoors.