What's the ONE thing you most need to do NOW to reach your goals?

Spinning off of the recent post about what you’ve done in the past - but what aren’t you yet doing that you need to do?

For me it’s easy. I need to start putting focused time into the project now that I’ve found a perfect candidate. I’m on my way to Red Rock for 10 days, and I think I’ll try and finish out my “get current” for the season with a few harder boulders so that I can come home and get to work.

2 Likes

I need to start working on my mental game. I’m a cognitive psychologist with some knowledge about sports psychology, but I’m reaching the point where I realise knowledge isn’t the same as ability :slight_smile:

So I’m going to deal with the fear of falling when lead climbing (fear of losing control in my case, the fall itself is always fine), as well as deal with focussing ('m distracted lately). Finally, I want to practise an on/off switch. I primarely boulder, so I’m usually “on”. I tend to overgrip and breath powerfully. I want to get good at going from smooth flowy climbing to powerful full effort climbing and back.

2 Likes

Might help to think of it as a dial rather than a switch. There’s a lot of necessary effort between off and on.

I know you said one but I have two things I need to do right now. One very practical and the other a bit more abstract.

I need to buy a 12 ft collapsible ladder. One of my main goals for the season is a pretty tall boulder with committing moves at the top and a tough mantle. It’s a grade im fairly confident in and it’s on style but I’ll have a much better chance of sending if I can brush, tick and feel the holds. Right now I’m fairly intimidated